Bird Day-Peacock

National Bird of India

It’s been a long time I painted peacock so thought let’s do it for this month’s  Draw A Bird Day! Also I wanted to participate in Charlie’s this month’s challenge ‘National Celebration Days’, I decided to join in with today’s challenge DABD  🙂

Last time when I painted peacock it was like more realistic. So this time I wanted to make it in loose watercolor style though his face and neck I did it semi realistic but feathers I just painted it as a suggestive forms.I wanted to give primary attention to his face and then this colorful background.

Peacock is a national bird of India. The Indian Blue Peacock is a universally known bird with a fan-shaped crest. The rainy season is very favorite with the peacock. When it rains, they becomes very happy and starts spreading their nicely decorative plumes and dance joyfully, which is a most delightful and rare sight. The peahen (female) compared to the peacock is dull looking and smaller in size; peahen has no plume.

I’ve used 140 lb cold press paper, W&N Ultramarine Blue, Cerulean Blue, Viridian, Yellow Ochre, Burnt Sienna and Cadmium Yellow colors for this #doodlewash

Thank you 🙂

 

34 thoughts on “Bird Day-Peacock

Leave a Reply

